How to Troubleshoot “Modified permissions cannot be saved” Issue on Outlook

Outlook cannot save changed permissions, mainly because delegated access is not working. Network restrictions from access providers and various add-ons can also cause the problem. This error does not allow the user to change calendar permissions and share the calendar with other users.

This is a common problem that occurs due to minor technical issues with the Outlook application. This problem has nothing to do with the hardware itself. Many users encounter this error on their system. If you want to fix this error, here are some effective steps.

What is the cause of the “Modified permissions cannot be saved” problem in Outlook?

  • Delegated access is used to share Outlook calendars with other users. If due to a failure, delegated access fails or permission changes are not sent to the server, Outlook Calendar cannot save the changed permissions.
  • The permissions in the Outlook calendar properties are used to manage delegated access. If authorization records are duplicated, these duplicates create conflicting authorization scripts. For this reason, Outlook will not be able to save the changed permissions.

How to resolve the “Cannot save changed permissions” issue in Outlook?

Utilize third-party email client software

  1. Download and install Mailbird for desktop.
  2. Go to the main menu and click on Settings -> Show All Settings.
  3. Select Accounts and Import.
  4. Click on the Add email account
  5. Enter your name and Outlook email address

Outlook supports IMAP, an Internet protocol that allows users to access their e-mail messages from various devices using third-party software.

Configuring the Outlook Settings

  1. Open Outlook
  2. Jump to a file
  3. Select Account Settings
  4. Click on Delegated Access.
  5. Click Add, then click any user in the global address list
  6. Navigate to the permissions page
  7. Click OK
  8. Select Apply.
  9. Click OK again
  10. Go back to the File tab.
  11. Click on Account Settings
  12. Golik Delegate Access.
  13. Delete the user you added in step 5