- If the user profile deletion process was not completed correctly, you may see the error message “Profile not completely deleted”, “Error â€“ Directory not empty” This error message usually appears when you delete part of a domain profile, but you may find it on an ordinary home computer as well.
- The deletion process is not complete: if you try to delete a profile through the Windows 10 user interface, it will not be permanently deleted.
It is possible to see an error message that says “Profile not completely deleted”, or “Error – Directory not empty” if the user profile deletion process was not completed correctly. It can appear on a home computer even if you do not delete part of a domain profile. Whatever the cause, you can fix it easily.
The above message may appear if the profile deletion process isn’t completed by Windows 10 when trying to delete a particular folder or file, even if it has been created.
What causes the “Profile not completely deleted” error on Windows 10 PC?
It is usually c:/Users/username (username is lowercase) that is the value of %userprofile%.
The deletion process is not complete: if you try to delete a profile through the Windows 10 user interface, the user profile will not be permanently deleted.
Remaining user profile registry keys: In some circumstances, this error may occur if you have some remaining registry keys associated with the problematic user profile that has not yet been released by your operating system.
Can T Delete User Profile Windows 10
To fix it, I go to system properties. Press Windows key + R, then click systempropertiesadvanced. Then click User profiles – > [Settings]. A window will pop up. Select the user you want to delete, and you can then delete it.
I go to https://developer.apple.com/account/resources/profiles/list, and I find that my profile doesn’t have an “Apple Distributon” signing certificate. Do you also think this may be related to the possibility of my app being published on the Mac App Store in the future? I add it, go back to XCode, and now everything is fine. Let’s try this again with deployment.
Windows Finder Problem: It turns out that one of the most common causes of this particular error code is a failure of the Windows Finder service, which still contains cached data associated with the Windows profile that you are trying to remove.
What causes the “Profile not completely deleted” error on a Windows 10 PC?
Deleting a user profile as an administrator
It is important to note that you cannot delete a user profile that you are logged in with. Therefore, if you want to delete one of the main profiles, you must create another profile with administrator rights and then try to delete the corrupted profile.
- Take advantage of your administrator account to log into your computer.
- Ensure that you are not deleting your own account.
- Run can be accessed by pressing Windows + R at the same time.
- A window with User Account can be accessed by typing netplwiz and clicking OK.
- The User profiles on this computer are listed under Users.
- By clicking Delete, you will be able to delete the selected user profile.
- Delete the selected profile by clicking “Are you sure?”.
Delete a user profile in the system properties
- By pressing Windows + R, you will open the Run dialog box.
- The System Properties window will appear once you type sysdm.CPL.
- To access advanced features, click Advanced.
- Under User Profile, click Settings.
- You can now delete a user profile by selecting it and clicking the Delete button.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why can’t I delete a profile in Windows 10?
In the System Properties window, select the Advanced tab and click Options under User Profiles. Select the user profile for the problematic Windows account and click Delete. If the Delete button is grayed out, you may be logged in to the user profile you want to delete.
How do I delete a corrupt profile in Windows 10?
- Press Win + R on your keyboard.
- Click the Settings button.
- Select a user account profile and click Delete.
- Confirm the request.
- Manually delete a user profile in Windows 10.
- Open the registry editor.
What happens when I delete a user profile in Windows 10?
Note that when you delete a user from your Windows 10 computer, all related data, documents, and other items are permanently deleted. If necessary, make sure that the user has backed up the important files they want to keep before deleting them.
Mark Ginter is a tech blogger with a passion for all things gadgets and gizmos. A self-proclaimed "geek", Mark has been blogging about technology for over 15 years. His blog, techquack.com, covers a wide range of topics including new product releases, industry news, and tips and tricks for getting the most out of your devices. If you're looking for someone who can keep you up-to-date with all the latest tech news and developments, then be sure to follow him over at Microsoft.